Slavic-Eurasian Research Center 2021 Winter International Workshop

Authoritarian Governance:
Institutions and Strategies


December 8–10, 2021
Venue: Online with Zoom (Hosted by the Slavic-Eurasian Research Center [SRC], Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan)
Language: English
in Japanese --->        Past Symposia --->    

Please register by December 6


 December 8 (Wed.)
9:50–10:00 (GMT+9) Opening Remarks
  Tomohiko Uyama (SRC)
Masaaki Higashijima (Tohoku University)
10:00–12:00 (GMT+9)

Session 1. Informal Politics and Governability in Authoritarian Regimes: Russia


David Szakonyi (George Washington University)

  “Hidden Earnings in an Authoritarian Parliament: Evidence from Russia”

Masatomo Torikai (Japan Society for the Promotion of Science / Keio University), Evgenia Olimpieva (University of Chicago)

  “Who Goes to Jail and Who Stays in Office? Elite Competition and Criminal Investigation of Mayors in Russia”


Natalia Forrat (University of Michigan)


Manabu Sengoku (SRC)

 December 9 (Thu.)

16:30–18:30 (GMT+9)

Session 2. Between State and Society in the Developing World: The Middle East and Caucasus

Ellen Lust (University of Gothenburg)

  “Everyday Choices: The Role of Competing Authorities and Social Institutions in Politics and Development”

Yu Tachibana (Hokkaido University)

  “The Daily Forms of Authoritarian Regime? Municipality System in Post-Soviet Azerbaijan”

Discussant: Scott Radnitz (University of Washington)
Chair: Masaaki Higashijima (Tohoku University)
 December 10 (Fri.)
10:00–12:00 (GMT+9)

Session 3. Regime Strengths and Autocrats’ Reactions to Crises: Southeast and East Asia


Dan Slater (University of Michigan)

  “Democracy through Strength: Asia’s Development and Democratization”

Ayame Suzuki (Doshisha University)

  “Stern but Not Strong: Assessing State Capacity through COVID-19 Responses of Selected Southeast Asian States”

Discussant: Lee Morgenbesser (Griffith University)
Chair: Yuko Kasuya (Keio University)

Sponsored by JSPS KAKENHI Grant Number 18H03619 (Comparative Study of the Rise of Authoritarianism and Populism)
Organizing Committee:
Tomohiko Uyama, Masaaki Higashijima, Yoichi Isahaya